Texas law that requires women to have a sonogram – and listen to a description of the fetus as well as its heartbeat – at least 24 hours before they can get an abortion is far from clear.
Lots of People have mixed emotion about it but Texas abortion providers say many of their patients felt insulted.
Texas Department of State Health Services posted guidelines for abortion providers. Facilities that fail to comply face penalties of up to $1,000 per violation per day.
About 75,000 abortions were performed in Texas in 2010, the latest year for which statistics are available, according to State Health Services.
About 15 percent to 17 percent of pregnant women who undergo the ultrasound at Planned Parenthood don’t come back for the abortion, Tafolla says, but that could be for a number of reasons.
(Oklahoma and North Carolina have similar laws, but their enforcement has been held up because sonogram requirements were blocked by the courts.)