Tap Money's Blog

 


Cosmic Coincidence? Meteor Hits Russia and DA 14 Asteroid Comes Close

February 15, 2013 may have started out as one of the strangest days in recent history.  Many woke up this morning to video and news of a large Meteor crashing through the Earth's atmosphere over Russia, causing a massive flash, shock waves, broken windows and at least 700 injuries.

This happens to occur on the very same day that the asteroid DA-14 comes just 17,200 miles away from Earth- an encounter than scientests call "too close for comfort".  But do not worry. NASA has reassured everyone that the DA-14 asteroid is not quite on course to impact the Earth although it is coming closer than some of the stationed satellites out there. 

NASA also says that the meteor and asteroid are an unrelated "cosmic coincidence". 
 
 

 NASA Television will provide commentary starting at 2 p.m. EST (11 a.m. PST) on Friday, Feb. 15, during the close, but safe, flyby of a small near-Earth asteroid named 2012 DA14. NASA places a high priority on tracking asteroids and protecting our home planet from them. This flyby will provide a unique opportunity for researchers to study a near-Earth object up close. 

The half-hour broadcast from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, Calif., will incorporate real-time animation to show the location of the asteroid in relation to Earth, along with live or near real-time views of the asteroid from observatories in Australia, weather permitting. 

At the time of its closest approach to Earth at approximately 2:25 p.m. EST (11:25 a.m. PST/ 19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth's surface. 

The commentary will be available via NASA TV and streamed live online at: 

http://www.nasa.gov/ntv




Tags :  
Topics : EnvironmentHuman Interest
Social :
Locations : CaliforniaPasadena




 
02/15/2013 10:33AM
Cosmic Coincidence? Meteor Hits Russia and DA 14 Asteroid Comes Close
Please Enter Your Comments Below
Title :
Comment :
advertise with us
Recent Blog Posts
Things You Didn't Know About Yesterday
Insensitive or Sincere?
No Thanksgiving for You!
"I See a Darkness in You"
Bye Bye Clydesdales?
Um, Bette, Say What?
The Force Awakens Slowly
Vader Versus Batman - Who Wins?
Categories
Archives